World Cup Umpire Makes Mistake Despite DRS
In Sunday's breathtaking cricket match between India and England, Ian Bell was hit on his front leg before the wicket by Yuvraj Singh. Bell begun to walk off, regardless, England captain Strauss called him back since the umpire Billy Bowden had not given him out. Indian skipper M S Dhoni asked for a review and the Decision Review System (DRS) found that the distance between Bell's leg and the stumps was 2.5meter, the distance at which DRS system rules itself out for probable clarity of the electronic system becomes suspect, and therefore inadmissible.
The hawk-eye had clearly demonstrated that the ball would have hit the middle stamp at nearly two-third mark from the ground. Yet, Bowden stood his ground and declared Bell not out. Dhoni later criticized Bowden for his decision, and called it “an 'adulteration' of technology with human judgment.” ICC chief executive, Haroon Lorgat disagreed with Dhoni, he said, “It's not adulteration; it (DRS) is there to support the umpire, not to overrule the umpire. The whole purpose of this introduction [of the DRS] is to avoid the error, not to seek a way to reprieve a batsman. It was the judgment call of the umpire.”
ICC General Manager, Dave Richardson, told Indian news channel, CNN-IBN, “There are a set of rules along with the Hawk-Eye to assist in making the decision when UDRS is implemented ... Most of the time, a player is not fully aware of all the rules. If MS Dhoni is made aware of the specifications of these rules, then I am sure that he will accept the decision that was made.”
DRS or not, rules for LBW is clear—would the ball have hit the stump if it did not hit the batsman's leg? In Bell's case the answer was yes, Bell himself knew that, and that's why he walked. The umpire made a mistake, plain and simple. In the old days he would have no other recourse, but with DRS Bowden had the chance to correct himself, yet, possibly it was his pride that prevented him from redeeming himself and come clear.Continued on the next page